1 Registration will take place at the Berg River Brewery on Tuesday, 11 July 2017 from 14h00 to 18h00 only. It is compulsory for all to register prior to the start of the race.  The brewery is located in Unit 1, 34 36 Westhoven Street about 200m upstream from Dal Josafat weir, fronting onto the river.

2 The Berg Marathon will be preceded by a Time Trial (Prologue) on Tuesday, 11 July 2017 to determine the starting positions of the first 50 paddlers on Wednesday morning and the Time Trail Bonus applicable to the elapsed start of the second day.  The  top 70 K1 entrants according to the National Grading and recent Berg performances will be invited to participate in a time trial. See Race Rules.

3 The marathon for all entrants will start on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 at 09h00 at Market Street Bridge in Paarl.

4 It will be raced over 4 stages covering 240km to finish on Saturday, 15 July 2017 in Velddrif.

5 The First Day will finish at Zonquasdrift (62 km);

6 The Second Day will start at Zonquasdrift and finish at Bridgetown (46 km).

7 The Third Day will start at Bridgetown and finish at Zoutkloof (75 km).

8 The Fourth Day will start at Zoutkloof and finish at Velddrif (60 km).

All content rights vest with Western Cape Canoe Union | A Gameplan Media website